Monthly Archive for March, 2016

Congrats to our endorsed candidates Keith Franke and Denny McNamara!

At our March 12th BPOU convention, delegates endorsed St. Paul Park Mayor Keith Franke in the race for the House District 54A seat and they endorsed incumbent Rep. Denny McNamara for 54B.

No one was nominated for the state Senate District 54 race. The BPOU will hold an endorsing convention on April 21.

If you are a delegate or an alternate for the BPOU convention, please watch your mailbox and your email inbox for more information regarding the upcoming endorsing convention.

Please continue to monitor our website for the latest information.

Rep Denny McNamara Capitol Update: The Minnesota House of Representatives is back in session

Representative Denny McNamara

Representative Denny McNamara

By Rep. Denny McNamara, 03/16/2016

Hello from the State Capitol,

The Minnesota House of Representatives is back in session, and with only ten weeks to finish our legislative business we are wasting little time. All of our committees are up and running, and we are holding floor sessions two to three days a week.

As I’ve stated before, I expect our top three priorities this session to center on tax relief, a capital investment proposal that will fund needed construction projects across this state, and a long term transportation funding plan.

This week, Minnesota Senate leadership once again promoted its transportation funding plan that would raise taxes on Minnesotans. The House also approved a long-term funding proposal last session, but it does not raise any taxes. Instead, it utilizes existing funding from sales taxes on car parts, vehicle leases, and rentals, bonding, and a small portion of the budget surplus.

So what do you think? The road and bridge funding debate is one of several questions on my annual legislative survey, so click here to provide your feedback.

As session moves forward, pleased contact me with any legislative questions you may have. I can be reached at, or by phone at 651-296-3135.

I also sat down for an interview recently with Minnesota House Public Information Services. To watch the video, please click here.

Keep in touch,

Representative Denny McNamara
365 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Photos from today’s BPOU convention


Rep Denny McNamara addresses the convention delegates.

Rep Denny McNamara addresses the convention delegates.


Convention delegate raises a question at the convention.

Convention delegate raises a question at the convention.


Misc. campaign signs.

Misc. campaign signs.


BPOU convention selects delegates for CD 2 and CD 4 conventions

At our SD 54 Republicans BPOU convention earlier today we selected 3 delegates and 3 alternates to send to the Congressional District 4 convention. We also selected 28 delegates and 28 alternates to send to the Congressional District 2 convention.

CD 4: The three delegates and three alternates are:

1. Darryl Cannon
2. Ev Acker
3. Kim Edwards

A01. Jordan Johnson
A02. Keith Franke
A03. Lynn Kaye

CD 2: The 28 delegates and 28 alternates are:

1. Chad Rediske
2. Matt Michalski
3. Jordan Grovum
4. Samuel Swanlund
5. Maclaren Michalski
6. Anna Holmstadt
7. Mike Fouts
8. Denny McNamara
9. Allen Warren
10. Leilani Holmstadt
11. Beverly Moreland
12. Michael Carsten
13. Tom Dippel
14. Terry Flower
15. Scott Cain
16. Margaret Flower
17. Matthew Kowalski
18. Donald “Brock” Alter
19. Faye Hatch
20. Laura Trosen
21. Lloyd Cheney
22. Kelie Eigenher
23. Jim Brunsgaard
24. Terri Cheney
25. Julie Zappa
26. Jeff Haggerty
27. Susan Halvorson
28. Kathleen Wagner

A01. Leon Moe
A02. Rick Levang
A03. Patrick Dippel
A04. Larry Richie
A05. Jewel Pickert
A06. Jane Christensen
A07. Clint Haggerty
A08. Linda Richie
A09. Jackie Moe
A10. Elizabeth Dippel
A11. Ian Page
A12. Jake Duesenberg
A13. Michelle Duncan
A14. Duane Girard
A15. Mike Qualy
A16. Kevin Trandem
A17. Danielle McClain
A18. Derrick Lehrke
A19. Wayne Polly
A20. Autumn Lehrke
A21. Rod Lehrke
A22. Linda Lehrke
A23. Ricky Williams
A24. Barbara Gray
A25. Rod Amland
A26. Sandra Stephan
A27. Donald Tarsewicz
A28. Katelyn DeVarennes

Convention agenda, rules, resolutions, and delegate list

Our Senate District 54 Republicans BPOU convention is tomorrow!

Below are downloadable copies of the Convention Agenda, the Proposed Convention Rules, the list of Resolutions for Consideration, and the list of delegates and alternates to the convention.

Remember, the convention will be held at the
Hastings Middle School, 1000 West 11th street, Hastings, MN 55033

From the convention agenda:

8:30 a.m. Registration and Check-In opens
9:00 a.m. Welcome and Call to Order
9:30 a.m. Time Certain, Registration Closes
9:30 a.m. Time Certain, Self-nomination for Congr. and State Delegate Closes

Download these files:

Convention Agenda

Convention Rules

Resolutions for Consideration

List of Delegates and Alternates

Precinct Delegate Allocations